The Cougar

This powerful predator roams the Americas, where it is also known as a puma, cougar, and catamount. This big cat of many names is also found in many habitats, from Florida swamps to Canadian forests.


Mountain lions like to prey on deer, though they also eat smaller animals such as coyotes, porcupines, and raccoons. They usually hunt at night or during the twilight hours of dawn and dusk. These cats employ a blend of stealth and power, stalking their prey until an opportunity arrives to pounce, then going for the back of the neck with a fatal bite. They will hide large carcasses and feed on them for several days.


Mountain Lions live 8-13

years and are very

protective of their territory sometimes establishing a territory of more than

300 square miles.

—Kids Page—






Declining Cats

Mountain lions require a lot of room—only a few cats

can survive in a 30-square-mile (78-square-kilometer)

range. They are solitary and shy animals, seldom seen

by humans. Mountain lions once roamed nearly all of the

United States. They were prized by hunters and despised

by farmers and ranchers who suffered livestock losses at their hands. Subsequently, by the dawn of the 20th century, mountain lions were eliminated from nearly all of their range in the Midwest and Eastern U.S.

Click Here For

Bald Eagles


Females mature between one-and-a-half to three years of age. They typically average one litter every two to three years throughout their lives. It takes about 91 days for the babies to be born. Young adults leave their mother to attempt to establish their own territory at around two years of age and sometimes earlier; males tend to leave sooner.

Information Collected From:

National Geographic;


Find Us On Facebook